Home » Categories » Remark Test Grading (Cloud) » Application Administration

Account Dashboard - Security

As an administrator, you have control over the security of the application. By default there is an administrators group (account super users), a manage students for account group (same as teachers, but can add students to the system), and a teachers (users group). Administrators have full control of the application and are able to create new teachers, either manually or via the full import. Teachers cannot create students but can add existing students to their rosters. Generally speaking, the default settings should be fine. You cannot edit the default groups, but you can make copies of them if you wish to create a new combination of permissions.

Two common changes you might want to make include elevating another user to an administrator and allowing teachers to add students to the system.

Elevating Another User to an Administrator

Click your name in the upper right corner and choose Account Dashboard.

Click the ellipsis (three dots) and choose Account Security.

Click the Account Super Users name.

Locate the desired teacher you wish to elevate. Mark the checkbox next to his or her name.

Click Save Group Membership.

 

Allowing Teachers to Create Students

Click your name in the upper right corner and choose Account Dashboard.

Click the ellipsis (three dots) and choose Account Security.

Click the Manage Students for Account name.

Locate the desired teacher you wish to elevate. Mark the checkbox next to his or her name.

Click Save Group Membership.

 

Account security also allows you to create new groups where you can determine the permissions you want to assign.

Click your name in the upper right corner and choose Account Dashboard.

Click the ellipsis (three dots) and choose Account Security.

Click New Group.

Provide a name and description and then choose the permissions you wish to assign.

Click Save Group.

To add teachers to the new group, go back to Account Security and click the group you just created.

Locate the desired teacher you wish to elevate. Mark the checkbox next to his or her name.

Click Save Group Membership.

 

0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
  • Icon PDFExport to PDF
  • Icon MS-WordExport to MS Word
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles
Managing Teachers
Viewed 1283 times since Mon, Oct 9, 2017
Managing Classes
Viewed 1350 times since Mon, Oct 9, 2017
Account Dashboard Overview
Viewed 1896 times since Mon, Oct 9, 2017
Managing Terms
Viewed 1100 times since Mon, Oct 9, 2017
Making Students Inactive (Archiving)
Viewed 1374 times since Wed, Apr 26, 2017
Importing Teacher, Class and Student Data
Viewed 2605 times since Tue, Mar 15, 2016
Managing Students
Viewed 1349 times since Mon, Oct 9, 2017
Making Terms Inactive (Archiving)
Viewed 1133 times since Tue, Apr 25, 2017
Setting up the D2L Connector
Viewed 114 times since Mon, Mar 16, 2020
Setting up the Blackboard Connector
Viewed 193 times since Fri, Mar 20, 2020